Rainy Day Books. Kansas City's Community Bookseller. Independent. Original. Unique. Since 1975.

Welcome to Rainy Day Books! This week we're talking about The Wolf Wants In by Laura McHugh. In a small town ravaged by the opioid crisis, a woman confronts a dark secret about her brother’s shocking death—a gripping novel of suspense for fans of Sharp Objects and S-Town. You'll find this book and many more great recommendations right inside our door!

The Wolf Wants In: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399590283
Availability: In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
Published: Spiegel & Grau - August 6th, 2019

“A perfect thriller . . . a thoughtful commentary on America’s opioid crisis and an utterly satisfying mystery.”—Janelle Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Watch Me Disappear

Sadie Keller is determined to find out how her brother died, even if no one else thinks it’s worth investigating. Untimely deaths are all too common in rural Blackwater, Kansas, where crime and overdoses are on the rise, and the small-town police force is consumed with the recent discovery of a child’s skull in the woods. Sadie is on her own, delving into the dark corners of a life her brother kept hidden and unearthing more questions than answers.

Eighteen-year-old Henley Pettit knows more than she’d like to about the seedy side of Blackwater, and she’s desperate to escape before she’s irreparably entangled in her family’s crimes. She dreams of disappearing and leaving her old life behind, but shedding the past is never easy, and getting out of town will be far more dangerous than she ever imagined.

As more bones are found in the woods, time is running out for Sadie to uncover the truth and for Henley to make her escape. Both women are torn between family loyalties and the weight of the secrets they carry, knowing full well that while some secrets are hard to live with, others will get you killed.


Indie Next List

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Indie Bestsellers

This feature require that you enable JavaScript in your browser.

Audiobooks from Rainy Day Books: Choose Indie, Listen Anywhere!

 
Audiobooks! All your favorites at competitive prices, and each sale benefits Rainy Day Books!

E-Books delivered by My Must Reads!

Subscribe to Rainy Day Books RSS