The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel (Paperback)

The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
On hand as of Dec 4 2:03am
(Contemporary Fictn)

Indie Next List Highlights 2008


“Sometimes, if you are very lucky, fate gives you a special friend. Denny's friend Enzo will stand by him through some of the best and worst times of his life, his faith in Denny bone deep. Enzo is a dog, a dog with a very old soul. Denny is a race driver with natural talent, but sometimes life gets in the way of natural talent, and the road can have sharp bends. Suffused with humor, love, pain, and valor, this should be one of the year's best books!”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, OR

Description


NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM FOX 2000 STARRING MILO VENTIMIGLIA, AMANDA SEYFRIED, AND KEVIN COSTNER

MEET THE DOG

WHO WILL SHOW THE WORLD

HOW TO BE HUMAN

The New York Times bestselling novel from Garth Stein—a heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope—a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

“Splendid.” —People

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that compassion isn’t only for humans, and that the relationship between two souls who are meant for each other never really comes to an end. Every now and then I’m lucky enough to read a novel I can’t stop thinking about: this is one of them.” —Jodi Picoult

“It’s impossible not to love Enzo.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

“This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.” —Sara Gruen

About the Author


Garth Stein is the author of Enzo Races in the Rain!, based on the New York Times bestselling novel The Art of Racing in the Rain (and its tween adaptation, Racing in the Rain). His other works include A Sudden Light, How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, Raven Stole the Moon, and a play, Brother Jones. He is the cofounder of Seattle7Writers.org, a nonprofit collective of sixty-two Northwest authors dedicated to fostering a passion for the written word. Garth lives in Seattle with his family and his dog, Comet.

Praise For…


“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.”
Portland Oregonian

“Splendid.”
People (3 ½ out of 4 stars)

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.”
Entertainment Weekly

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.”
— Jodi Picoult

The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and—most especially—the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.”
— Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.”
— Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”
— Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True


Product Details
ISBN: 9780061537967
ISBN-10: 0061537969
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 22nd, 2018
Pages: 336
Language: English

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

Friday, December 10, 2021, is the last day for us to special order a book with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Monday, December 13, 2021, is the last day that we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package more than 250 miles from Kansas City with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, is the last day we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package locally with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas. This is also the last day that we will ship any packages out from our bookstore until Wednesday, December 29, 2021.

Between Thursday, December 16, 2021, and Christmas weekend, we will hold orders to ship after the holiday.

The likelihood of damaged, misrouted, delayed, and lost shipments will increase dramatically during the last week before Christmas.

We are sharing this information to help you enjoy shopping with Rainy Day Books!

We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you in our bookstore to celebrate the holidays.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.