The Alice Network: A Novel (Paperback)

The Alice Network: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
On hand as of Dec 2 1:03am
(Contemporary Fictn)

Description


New York Times and USA Today Bestseller

An NPR's Best Book of the Year 

A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick!

The 2017 Girly Book Club Book of the Year!

A Summer Book Pick from Good Housekeeping, Parade, Library Journal, Goodreads, Liz and Lisa, and BookBub

In this enthralling novel from New York Times bestselling author Kate Quinn, two women—a female spy recruited to the real-life Alice Network in France during World War I and an unconventional American socialite searching for her cousin in 1947—are brought together in a mesmerizing story of courage and redemption.

1947. In the chaotic aftermath of World War II, American college girl Charlie St. Clair is pregnant, unmarried, and on the verge of being thrown out of her very proper family. She's also nursing a desperate hope that her beloved cousin Rose, who disappeared in Nazi-occupied France during the war, might still be alive. So when Charlie's parents banish her to Europe to have her "little problem" taken care of, Charlie breaks free and heads to London, determined to find out what happened to the cousin she loves like a sister.

1915. A year into the Great War, Eve Gardiner burns to join the fight against the Germans and unexpectedly gets her chance when she's recruited to work as a spy. Sent into enemy-occupied France, she's trained by the mesmerizing Lili, the "Queen of Spies", who manages a vast network of secret agents right under the enemy's nose.

Thirty years later, haunted by the betrayal that ultimately tore apart the Alice Network, Eve spends her days drunk and secluded in her crumbling London house. Until a young American barges in uttering a name Eve hasn't heard in decades, and launches them both on a mission to find the truth...no matter where it leads.

“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”—Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of America's First Daughter

About the Author


Kate Quinn is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of historical fiction. A native of southern California, she attended Boston University where she earned a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in Classical Voice. She has written four novels in the Empress of Rome Saga, and two books in the Italian Renaissance, before turning to the 20th century with The Alice Network and The Huntress. All have been translated into multiple languages. Kate and her husband now live in San Diego with two rescue dogs.

Praise For…


The Alice Network has history, suspense, romance and women kicking butt. I couldn’t put it down.”
— NPR Books

“This fast-paced story offers courageous heroines, villains you love to hate, and dramatic life-or-death stakes. A compelling blend of historical fiction, mystery, and women’s fiction, Quinn’s complex story and engaging characters have something to offer just about everyone.” 
Library Journal (starred review)

“Amazing historical fiction... a must read!”
— Historical Novel Society

“Kate Quinn announces herself as one of the best artists of the genre. The plotting is seamless, the pace breathtaking, and the prose is both vivid and laced with just the right amount of details. Fans of historical fiction, spy fiction and thrilling drama will love every moment.”
BookPage

“Lovingly crafted and brimming with details, readers are sure to be held in Quinn’s grip watching as the characters evolve. Powerful reading you can’t put down!”
— RT Book Reviews (top pick)

“Kate Quinn delivers an enthralling tale filled with breath-taking narrative that will make the reader feel as if they’re in the back of the roadster, riding along with the raucous Eve and courageous Charlie on their clandestine adventures. Suspenseful and engrossing, THE ALICE NETWORK is a must-read!”
— Heather Webb, Author of Rodin's Lover

“Kate Quinn strums the chords of every human emotion with two storylines that race over continents and through decades to converge in one explosive ending.”
— Marci Jefferson, author of Enchantress of Paris

“The Alice Network... perfectly balances a propulsive plot, faultlessly observed period detail, and a cast of characters so vividly drawn that I half expected to blink and see them standing in front of me. This is historical fiction at its best--thrilling, affecting, revelatory.”
— Jennifer Robson, international bestselling author of Moonlight Over Paris

“Both funny and heartbreaking, this epic journey of two courageous women is an unforgettable tale of little-known wartime glory and sacrifice. Quinn knocks it out of the park with this spectacular book!”
— Stephanie Dray, author of America's First Daughter

“A powerful story filled with daring and intrigue, The Alice Network will hook readers from the first page and take them on an unforgettable journey.”
— Chanel Cleeton, author of Next Year in Havana

“Line for line, one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. Loyal and brave, the women of THE ALICE NETWORK are brilliantly revealed by Kate Quinn’s exquisite storytelling and prose. I loved every word! A must read for fans of WWI and WWII fiction.”
— Renee Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

“In The Alice Network, the lives of two indomitable women intertwine in a plot crackling with suspense. We root for Charlie and Eve, and cheer when they triumph.”
— NPR.org


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062654199
ISBN-10: 0062654195
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 6th, 2017
Pages: 560
Language: English

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

Friday, December 10, 2021, is the last day for us to special order a book with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Monday, December 13, 2021, is the last day that we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package more than 250 miles from Kansas City with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, is the last day we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package locally with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas. This is also the last day that we will ship any packages out from our bookstore until Wednesday, December 29, 2021.

Between Thursday, December 16, 2021, and Christmas weekend, we will hold orders to ship after the holiday.

The likelihood of damaged, misrouted, delayed, and lost shipments will increase dramatically during the last week before Christmas.

We are sharing this information to help you enjoy shopping with Rainy Day Books!

We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you in our bookstore to celebrate the holidays.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.