Dark Rise (Hardcover)

Dark Rise Cover Image
$18.99
In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
On hand as of Dec 8 3:03am
(Young Adult)

Description


* Instant New York Times Bestseller * Indie Bestseller *

In this stunning new fantasy novel from international bestselling author C. S. Pacat, heroes and villains of a long-forgotten war are reborn and begin to draw new battle lines. This epic fantasy with high-stakes romance will sit perfectly on shelves next to beloved fantasy novels like the Infernal Devices series, the Shadow and Bone trilogy, and the Red Queen series.

Sixteen-year-old dock boy Will is on the run, pursued by the men who killed his mother. Then an old servant tells him of his destiny to fight beside the Stewards, who have sworn to protect humanity if the Dark King ever returns. Will is thrust into a world of magic, where he starts training for a vital role in the oncoming battle against the Dark.

As London is threatened and old enmities are awakened, Will must stand with the last heroes of the Light to prevent the fate that destroyed their world from returning to destroy his own.

Like V.E. Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic and Shelby Mahurin’s Serpent & Dove, Dark Rise is more than just high intrigue fantasy—it’s fast-paced, action-packed, and completely surprising. Readers will love exploring the rich setting of nineteenth-century London. This thrilling story of friendship, deception, loyalty, and betrayal is sure to find a passionate audience of readers.

About the Author


C. S. Pacat is the bestselling author of the Captive Prince trilogy and the graphic novel series Fence. She lives in Melbourne, Australia. Find her online at www.cspacat.com.

Praise For…


“A story rendered with devastatingly brilliant detail. Dark Rise pulls you by the hand into a dangerous, mighty world. You won’t be able to look away.”
— Chloe Gong, New York Times Bestselling Author of These Violent Delights

“A propulsive new fantasy. I simply couldn’t put it down.”
— V.E. Schwab, New York Times bestselling author of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

"Intricate and immersive. A wonderfully tangled adventure story with a Chosen One who keeps you guessing." 
— Rainbow Rowell, bestselling author of the Simon Snow Trilogy

“Beautiful, classical, and deliciously dark.”
— Jay Kristoff, New York Times bestselling author of Empire of the Vampire

“Abundant action and a profusion of plot twists fuel an adrenalized pace”
Publishers Weekly

“Classic . . .Pacat’s writing is atmospheric and full of intriguing, complex characters.”
Kirkus Reviews

A taut, captivating fantasy worth every ounce of the hype.”
Popsugar

"Pacat is a master at character design, and you’ll instantly fall in love.” 
— Tor.com

“A great recommendation for anyone who enjoyed Cassandra Clare’s historical Shadowhunters.”
— School Library Journal

“Lush, dark and dangerous. A YA fantasy that begins breathlessly and rarely lets up. Dark Rise is perfect for fans of Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo or The Cruel Prince by Holly Black." 
— Books + Publishing

“Will hook readers until the last page. Characters could entice you on one page, the stick a knife through your heart in the next.”
— The Nerd Daily


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062946140
ISBN-10: 0062946145
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: September 28th, 2021
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Dark Rise

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

Friday, December 10, 2021, is the last day for us to special order a book with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Monday, December 13, 2021, is the last day that we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package more than 250 miles from Kansas City with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, is the last day we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package locally with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas. This is also the last day that we will ship any packages out from our bookstore until Wednesday, December 29, 2021.

Between Thursday, December 16, 2021, and Christmas weekend, we will hold orders to ship after the holiday.

The likelihood of damaged, misrouted, delayed, and lost shipments will increase dramatically during the last week before Christmas.

We are sharing this information to help you enjoy shopping with Rainy Day Books!

We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you in our bookstore to celebrate the holidays.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.