Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology) (Paperback)

Courting Darkness (Courting Darkness duology) Cover Image
$10.99
Out of Stock, generally 2-3 business days to Order your Copy and have it arrive at our store or your home.

Description


From New York Times best-selling author Robin LaFevers comes Courting Darkness, a “sharp and breathless” (Kirkus Reviews) historical fantasy for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Game of Thrones. Set in the world of the His Fair Assassin series, this first in a new duology now has four starred reviews!
 
Death was only the beginning.
 
Sybella has always been the darkest of Death’s daughters, trained at the convent of Saint Mortain to serve as his justice. But in a desperate bid to keep her two youngest sisters from the family that nearly destroyed them all, she agrees to accompany the duchess to France. Surrounded by enemies, their one ray of hope is Sybella’s fellow novitiates, hidden deep in the French court years ago—provided Sybella can find them.
 
Genevieve has been undercover for so many years, she struggles to remember who she is or what she’s meant to be fighting for. Her only solace is a hidden prisoner who appears all but forgotten by his guards. When tragedy strikes, she takes matters into her own hands, even when it means forsaking the long-awaited orders from the convent.
 
Followed from alternating perspectives, Sybella’s and Gen’s paths draw ever closer. As their worlds threaten to collide, the fate of everything they hold sacred rests on a knife’s edge.

About the Author


Robin LaFevers, author of the New York Times best-selling His Fair Assassin books, was raised on fairy tales, Bulfinch’s mythology, and nineteenth-century poetry. It is not surprising that she grew up to be a hopeless romantic. She was lucky enough to find her one true love, and is living happily ever after with him in California. Visit her online at robinlafevers.com and on Twitter @RLLaFevers. 

Praise For…


"Sharp and breathless, full of anger and strength. May the sequel hurry."--Kirkus, starred review

"A first-purchase gem of historical fantasy for high school and public libraries that will delight fans and engage newcomers."--School Library Journal, starred review

"LaFevers' sharply drawn characters, pointed storytelling, and intricate takes on political intrigue will once again have readers turning pages.... [T]here are few writers as fine at their craft as LaFevers."--Booklist, starred review

"LaFevers’s blood-soaked, machination-riddled tale captivates as its fierce, passionate, intelligent female characters examine issues of agency and empowerment, freedom, and sisterhood."--Publishers Weekly, starred review

"LaFevers yet again skillfully pulls from the history of the 15th century French-Breton War to create a richly developed world of political intrigue, while casting it with deeply relatable and fully fleshed out characters."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"
Alternating between Sybella’s and Genevieve’s voices, LaFevers maintains an intense pitch of intrigue: murders, assaults, romance, betrayals, and erotic encounters follow one after another with plenty of garrotes, swords, daggers, poisoned sewing needles, and the like."--The Horn Book Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358238386
ISBN-10: 0358238382
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Pages: 544
Language: English
Series: Courting Darkness duology

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

Friday, December 10, 2021, is the last day for us to special order a book with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Monday, December 13, 2021, is the last day that we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package more than 250 miles from Kansas City with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, is the last day we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package locally with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas. This is also the last day that we will ship any packages out from our bookstore until Wednesday, December 29, 2021.

Between Thursday, December 16, 2021, and Christmas weekend, we will hold orders to ship after the holiday.

The likelihood of damaged, misrouted, delayed, and lost shipments will increase dramatically during the last week before Christmas.

We are sharing this information to help you enjoy shopping with Rainy Day Books!

We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you in our bookstore to celebrate the holidays.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.