They'll Never Catch Us (Hardcover)

They'll Never Catch Us Cover Image
$17.99
In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
On hand as of Oct 18 1:03am
(Young Adult)

Description


**A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a new fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team—until a teammate’s disappearance throws their lives off course.
 
"An utter page-turner. Goodman's voice is razor-sharp and keenly precise. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn!" Tiffany D. Jackson NYT Bestselling Author of White Smoke and Grown


Stella and Ellie Steckler are only a year apart, but their different personalities make their relationship complicated. Stella is single-minded, driven, and she keeps to herself. Cross-country running is her life and she won't let anything get in the way of being the best. Her sister Ellie is a talented runner too, but she also lets herself have fun. She has friends. She goes to parties. She has a life off the course.

The sisters do have one thing in common, though: the new girl, Mila Keene. Both Stecklers' lives are upended when Mila comes to town. At first, Ellie and Stella view the new star athlete as a threat. But soon Ellie can't help but be drawn to her warm, charming personality. After her best friend moved away and her first boyfriend betrayed her, Ellie's been looking for a friend to share her secrets. Stella finds herself noticing the ways she and Mila are similar. Mila is smart and strong--she's someone Stella can finally connect with. As the two get closer, Stella becomes something she vowed she'd never be: distracted.

With regionals approaching and college scouts taking notice, the pressure is on. Each girl has their future on the line and they won't let friendships get in their way. But then, suddenly, Mila goes out on a training run and never returns. No one knows what happened, but all eyes are on the Steckler sisters.

About the Author


Jessica Goodman is the op-ed editor at Cosmopolitan and author of They Wish They Were UsThey'll Never Catch Us is her second novel.
 
Follow Jessica on Twitter @jessgood and on Instagram @jessicagoodman.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR THEY’LL NEVER CATCH US
 
“A fast paced thriller” Entertainment Weekly

“[A] thrilling mystery of friendship, deception and jealousy" Women.com

“Uniquely explores the complexities of sisters” BuzzFeed
 
“Goodman has delivered yet another twist-filled tale….Clear your schedule now because you won’t be able to put this one down.” E! Online
 
“Beautiful Hudson Valley hiking trails are the perfect setting for this twisty small-town mystery.” Cosmopolitan

“If you like your beach reads more on the thriller side, you should definitely pick up Jessica Goodman’s They’ll Never Catch Us.” The Young Folks

They’ll Never Catch Us…fully establishes Goodman as a force to be reckoned with in the world of contemporary YA thrillers…Another twisty and suspenseful murder mystery…[A] story of sisterhood and survival, the horrors of high school, the cruelty that young women are taught to show to one another.” Culturess

“[A] twisty, page-turning new novel out this week…Like her fantastic first book, it’s a Y.A. thriller about murder, gossip, the terror-scape that is the high school lunchroom, and competitive young women with ambitions too big for the boxes they’re expected to fit into.” Rich Text Podcast

“There’s a palpable passion for the joy and power of running as well as some biting commentary about restrictions on young women. Readers will sympathize with Stella’s need for speed and keep the pages turning swiftly in response.” BCCB

“This novel is a thoughtful examination of socio-economic challenges, the impact of crushing personal secrets, and the ways female athletes suffer under the weight of misogyny, especially when they are aggressively competitive. A deftly layered sports thriller populated with fierce girls.” Kirkus Reviews

“Suspenseful and gripping, yet a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, you won’t be able to put this down. And just when you think you’ve figured out the mystery, Goodman delivers a twist that will send you reeling.” —Diana Urban, author of All Your Twisted Secrets

“An utter page-turner. Goodman's voice is razor-sharp and keenly precise. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn!” Tiffany D. Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of White Smoke and Grown


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593114322
ISBN-10: 0593114329
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: July 27th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.