The King's Pleasure: A Novel of Henry VIII (Hardcover)

The King's Pleasure: A Novel of Henry VIII By Alison Weir Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now, E-mail or Call!
On hand as of Oct 1 1:18am
(Fiction HC)


The New York Times bestselling author of the Six Tudor Queens series explores the private side of the legendary king Henry VIII and his dramatic and brutal reign in this extraordinary historical novel.

“A delightful yarn . . . an all-around fun read about a king and a cad.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Having completed her Six Tudor Queens series of novels on the wives of Henry VIII, extensively researched and written from each queen's point of view, Alison Weir now gives Henry himself a voice, telling the story of his remarkable thirty-six-year reign and his six marriages.

Young Henry began his rule as a magnificent and chivalrous Renaissance prince who embodied every virtue. He had all the qualities to make a triumph of his kingship, yet we remember only the violence. Henry famously broke with the pope, founding the Church of England and launching a religious revolution that divided his kingdom. He beheaded two of his wives and cast aside two others. He died a suspicious, obese, disease-riddled tyrant, old before his time. His reign is remembered as one of dangerous intrigue and bloodshed—and yet the truth is far more complex.

The King's Pleasure
brings to life the idealistic monarch who expanded Parliament, founded the Royal Navy, modernized medical training, composed music and poetry, and patronized the arts. A passionate man in search of true love, he was stymied by the imperative to produce a male heir, as much a victim of circumstance as his unhappy wives. Had fate been kinder to him, the history of England would have been very different.

Here is the story of the private man. To his contemporaries, he was a great king, a legend in his own lifetime. And he left an extraordinary legacy—a modern Britain.

About the Author

Alison Weir is the New York Times bestselling author of The Last White Rose and the novels in the Six Tudor Queens series: Katharine Parr, The Sixth Wife; Katheryn Howard, The Scandalous Queen; Anna of Kleve, The Princess in the Portrait; Jane Seymour, The Haunted Queen; Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession; and Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen, as well as numerous earlier novels. She has also written historical biographies that include Queens of the Age of Chivalry; Queens of the Crusades; Queens of the Conquest; The Lost Tudor Princess, and Elizabeth of York. She lives in Surrey, England.

Praise For…

“Weir takes the abundant history and weaves imagined conversations and motivations into a delightful yarn. . . . An all-around fun read about a king and a cad.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Weir meticulously illustrates [Henry VIII’s] significant relationships with not just his six wives but also his political allies and rivals and such shrewd advisers. . . . This believable tale is a solid choice for historical fiction devotees.”Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9780593355060
ISBN-10: 0593355067
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: May 30th, 2023
Pages: 608
Language: English

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable / refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.