The Right Sort of Man: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery (Hardcover)

The Right Sort of Man: A Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now, E-mail or Call!
On hand as of Jun 25 12:15am
(Mystery)

Description


"A delightful immersion in the period and personalities, with that touch of depth that transforms a good series to a great one." —Laurie R. King

First comes love, then comes murder.

In a London slowly recovering from World War II, two very different women join forces to launch a business venture in the heart of Mayfair—The Right Sort Marriage Bureau. Miss Iris Sparks, quick-witted and impulsive, and Mrs. Gwendolyn Bainbridge, practical and widowed with a young son, are determined to achieve some independence and do some good in a rapidly changing world.

But the promising start to their marriage bureau is threatened when their newest client, Tillie La Salle, is found murdered and the man arrested for the crime is the prospective husband they matched her with. While the police are convinced they have their man, Miss Sparks and Mrs. Bainbridge are not. To clear his name—and to rescue their fledging operation’s reputation—Sparks and Bainbridge decide to investigate on their own, using the skills and contacts they’ve each acquired through life and their individual adventures during the recent war.

Little do they know that this will put their very lives at risk.

About the Author


ALLISON MONTCLAIR grew up devouring hand-me-down Agatha Christie paperbacks and James Bond movies. As a result of this deplorable upbringing, Montclair became addicted to tales of crime, intrigue, and espionage. She now spends her spare time poking through the corners, nooks, and crannies of history, searching for the odd mysterious bits and transforming them into novels of her own. The Right Sort of Man is her debut novel.

Praise For…


"Stellar...Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot...Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Fans of M. C. Beaton will relish the wit, and followers of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear will enjoy the depth and the period detail. Readers will want to get on the reserve list for the next Iris and Gwen adventure!" —Booklist

"The Right Sort of Man Marriage Bureau's debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date!" —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Sparkles with excellence as the author devises a first-rate plot, invests her heroines with depth and charm, paints an atmospheric portrait of postwar London and provides a bit of romance." —The Fredericksburg Freelance Star

"With a fun historical setting and two witty heroines, readers will enjoy this duo." —The News & Sentinel

"Brimming with wit and joie de vivre but sneakily poignant under its whimsical surface, The Right Sort of Man is an utter delight and a fantastic kickoff to a new series." —BookPage

"The plot moves quickly, well-paced with unexpected twists. There are moments of light-heartedness and moments of deep emotion, adding depth and dimension and lifting this book well out of the field of run-of-the-mill historical mysteries. The dialogue is fast-paced and funny, with some of the best one-liners I’ve seen in a novel." —Historical Novel Society (Editor's Choice)

"Full of heart, astute, and darkly comic, The Right Sort of Man is a keenly observed historical mystery set in post-WWII London about two women, a former intelligence agent and war widow, who join forces and set up a marriage bureau with the mission to knit lives together, while grappling with their own pasts." —Cara Black, New York Times bestselling author

"The Right Sort of Man is the right sort of book! I loved every minute of this delightful adventure with two thoroughly modern women fighting for a place in a rapidly changing world. Can't wait for the next installment!" —Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder on Union Square

"Utterly fabulous! Vivid historical detail, gorgeous prose, and witty, unforgettable characters all combine to make The Right Sort of Man one of the best books I’ve read this year. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Susan Elia MacNeal. I can’t wait to read Iris and Gwen’s next adventure!” —Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby Mysteries

"Rarely have I seen a novel that manages to be so charming and so substantial at the same time. The Right Sort of Man does more than nail post-WWII London in pitch-perfect setting and language--it introduces a female dynamic duo with whom I very quickly fell in love. The end of this book left me with a single thought: when can I read the next Iris and Gwen adventure?" —Lyndsay Faye, author of The Gods of Gotham and Jane Steele



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250178367
ISBN-10: 1250178363
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: June 4th, 2019
Pages: 336
Series: Sparks & Bainbridge Mystery