The Art of Deception: A Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mystery (The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mysteries #4) (Paperback)

The Art of Deception: A Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mystery (The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mysteries #4) Cover Image
$17.99
In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
On hand as of Dec 4 2:03am
(Mystery)

Description


"Suspenseful and entertaining, with many twists and turns....This is one of the best Sherlock Holmes series since Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell books."—Historical Novel Society

USA Today bestselling author Leonard Goldberg returns with another puzzling case for the daughter of Sherlock Holmes to unravel in this exciting mystery, The Art of Deception, sure to be enjoyed by fans of Sherlock Holmes as well as Laurie R. King and Charles Finch.

In the west end of London, an apparently crazed individual is on the loose, breaking into art galleries and private homes to slash valuable paintings of women. Despite Scotland Yard’s best efforts, the criminal remains at large and continues on his destructive path.

When Joanna and the Watsons are called in to solve the mystery, they soon discover that although the canvases have been slashed, their backings remain pristine, with no cuts or scratches. The criminal, it seems, is no mere vandal—he's searching for something hidden behind the portraits.

Suspicion soon falls on two skilled art restorers who previously worked at the gallery where all the vandalized art was purchased. When Joanna finds the body of one in a bricked off fireplace at the gallery, the other is left as the prime suspect. But then he's discovered dead as well. Luckily, Joanna has a plan for ensnaring the criminal once and for all. But it must not fail, or more paintings—and lives—will be lost.

About the Author


Leonard Goldberg is the USA Today bestselling author of the Joanna Blalock medical thrillers. His novels have been translated into a dozen languages and were selections of the Book of the Month Club, French and Czech book clubs, and The Mystery Guild. They were featured as People’s “Page-Turner of the Week” and at the International Book Fair. After a long career affiliated with the UCLA Medical Center as a Clinical Professor of Medicine, he now lives on an island off the coast of Charleston, SC.

Praise For…


"Holmes lovers will enjoy the intricate Sherlockian reasoning Joanna and Johnny bring to the puzzle." —Publishers Weekly

“Lets the reader imagine what it would be like if there was another generation of Holmes to set wrongs right.” —Mystery Scene

"Goldberg does a good job of bringing Holmes’ old stomping ground vividly to life...When it’s revealed what the assailant was after, we are not in the least disappointed." —Woman Around Town

"...the novel is written well, the plot intricate, and the solution is not obvious. Fans of Laurie R. King and Charles Finch will find this series a solid TBR (To Be Read)." —Mystery Tribune

"There's much to hold a reader's interest and the feel of the stories is very similar to Conan Doyle's writing...The plots are convoluted and twisty enough to satisfy most readers." —Gumshoe Review

"An excellent series...Joanna’s deductive abilities are the equal of her father’s...Goldberg draws a fascinating picture of the dark side of London’s art world...highly recommended." —Historical Novel Society

"Leonard Goldberg proves his skill as an author of this particular type of detective fiction time and again in this volume, with observations in the style of the great detective coming forth more than once…a most entertaining volume, featuring a complicated mystery, a clear knowledge of history, and an undeniable sense of adventure." —Green Man Review



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250269812
ISBN-10: 1250269814
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: May 18th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: The Daughter of Sherlock Holmes Mysteries

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

HOLIDAY ORDER & SHIPPING TIMELINES

Friday, December 10, 2021, is the last day for us to special order a book with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Monday, December 13, 2021, is the last day that we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package more than 250 miles from Kansas City with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas.

Wednesday, December 15, 2021, is the last day we will be able to ship a USPS Priority Mail package locally with an expectation that it will arrive in time for Christmas. This is also the last day that we will ship any packages out from our bookstore until Wednesday, December 29, 2021.

Between Thursday, December 16, 2021, and Christmas weekend, we will hold orders to ship after the holiday.

The likelihood of damaged, misrouted, delayed, and lost shipments will increase dramatically during the last week before Christmas.

We are sharing this information to help you enjoy shopping with Rainy Day Books!

We appreciate your business, and look forward to seeing you in our bookstore to celebrate the holidays.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.