Broken People (Hardcover)

Broken People Cover Image
$27.99
Out of Stock, generally 4-5 days to Order your Copy and have it arrive.

June 2020 Indie Next List


Broken People tells one man’s deeply personal story of confronting insecurities, obsessions, and frustrations while challenging many current cultural constructs. The pain and self-doubt will be recognized by many a reader, who will in equal measure cheer and thank Lansky for sharing a hopeful journey to forgiveness.”
— Linda McLoughlin Figel, pages: a bookstore, Manhattan Beach, CA

Description


ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF THE YEAR

Vogue, O, The Oprah Magazine, Parade, Library Journal, Harper's Bazaar and more

"Profound and affecting."--Chloe Benjamin

"Broken People leads us through the winds of time and memory to offer a riveting portrait of transformation. I am better for having read it."--Jamie Lee Curtis

A groundbreaking, incandescent debut novel about coming to grips with the past and ourselves, for fans of Sally Rooney, Hanya Yanagihara and Garth Greenwell

"He fixes everything that's wrong with you in three days."

This is what hooks Sam when he first overhears it at a fancy dinner party in the Hollywood hills: the story of a globe-trotting shaman who claims to perform "open-soul surgery" on emotionally damaged people. For neurotic, depressed Sam, new to Los Angeles after his life in New York imploded, the possibility of total transformation is utterly tantalizing. He's desperate for something to believe in, and the shaman--who promises ancient rituals, plant medicine and encounters with the divine--seems convincing, enough for Sam to sign up for a weekend under his care.

But are the great spirits the shaman says he's summoning real at all? Or are the ghosts in Sam's memory more powerful than any magic?

At turns tender and acid, funny and wise, Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction--a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781335013934
ISBN-10: 1335013938
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: June 9th, 2020
Pages: 304
Language: English

Thank You for your continuing support of Rainy Day Books!

Your Online Orders and Phone Orders help maintain our operations, our staff, and our mission to keep people well informed and entertained.  Please spread the word that we are helping people of all ages get the Books they need.  E-Mail and call your family & friends, post to social media, and spread the word. We are working 7 days a week to keep orders moving, please be patient as delivery times are now extended due to high order volume and delays in our restock. We are making every effort to expand delivery coverage, and we are sending some books directly from our suppliers to you to speed the process up!