The Priory of the Orange Tree (Paperback)

The Priory of the Orange Tree Cover Image
$20.00
In Stock as of this morning. Order Now!
On hand as of Nov 27 2:43am
(Science Fiction)

Description


The New York Times bestselling "epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of Game of Thrones" (Bustle).

NAMED A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR BY:
AMAZON (Top 100 Editors Picks and Science Fiction and Fantasy) * CHICAGO PUBLIC LIBRARY * BOOKPAGE * AUTOSTRADDLE

A world divided.
A queendom without an heir.
An ancient enemy awakens.


The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen Sabran the Ninth must conceive a daughter to protect her realm from destruction--but assassins are getting closer to her door.

Ead Duryan is an outsider at court. Though she has risen to the position of lady-in-waiting, she is loyal to a hidden society of mages. Ead keeps a watchful eye on Sabran, secretly protecting her with forbidden magic.

Across the dark sea, Tané has trained all her life to be a dragonrider, but is forced to make a choice that could see her life unravel.

Meanwhile, the divided East and West refuse to parley, and forces of chaos are rising from their sleep.

About the Author


Samantha Shannon is the New York Times and Sunday Times bestselling author of The Bone Season series. Her work has been translated into twenty-six languages. This is her fourth novel and her first outside of The Bone Season series. She lives in London.

samanthashannon.co.uk / @say_shannon

Praise For…


“Mesmerizing.” —Washington Post

“A timelessly relevant classic. Brilliant, diverse, feminist, subversive, thought-provoking, and masterfully told, The Priory of the Orange Tree is an absolute must-read.” —Karen Marie Moning, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Highlander and Fever series

“A brilliant, daring, and devastating jewel . . . An incredible world full of depth and danger, with characters I would follow to the ends of the earth. I'm in awe of [Shannon's] talent.” —Victoria Aveyard, #1 NYT bestselling author of the Red Queen series

“An epic feminist fantasy perfect for fans of 'Game of Thrones' . . . A rich and engaging high fantasy novel that puts women and their stories front and center, The Priory of the Orange Tree will pull you into its magical world from the first page.” —Bustle

“An intricately realized and feminist fantasy . . . one might even be tempted to dub Samantha Shannon, 'The female George R.R. Martin.” —Hypable

“This magnificent epic of queens, dragonriders, and badass secret wyrm-slaying priestesses is a tour de force, and my new absolute favorite epic fantasy.” —Laini Taylor, NYT bestselling author of the Strange the Dreamer and Daughter of Smoke and Bone series

“Spellbinding . . . extraordinary . . . A well-drawn feminist fantasy with broad appeal for fans of the epic and readers of Zen Cho, Naomi Novik, and V. E. Schwab. Highly recommended.” —Booklist, starred review

“A celebration of fantasy that melds modern ideology with classic tropes. More of these dragons, please.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“An astonishing achievement.” —Marie Brennan, award-winning author of The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“An epic fantasy destined to be a classic.” —Kami Garcia, #1 NYT bestselling coauthor of Beautiful Creatures and author of Unbreakable

“The Platonic Ideal of a fantasy novel . . . This story of good and evil, struggle and triumph, love and loss and return is beautifully written: complex but clear, and utterly immersive. I loved this book.” —Nicola Griffith, award-winning author of Hild

The Priory of the Orange Tree isn't our grandfathers' epic fantasy novel. It is a clever combination of Elizabethan England, the legend of St. George and Eastern dragon lore, with a dash of Tolkien. Shannon's feminist saga has enough detailed world-building, breath-taking action and sweeping romance to remind epic fantasy readers of why they love the genre in the first place. Modern sensibilities integrate seamlessly with genre tropes . . . Readers will beg for a sequel.” —Shelf Awareness

“Shannon satisfyingly fills this massive standalone epic fantasy with court intrigue, travel through dangerous lands, fantastical religions, blood, love, and rhetoric.” —Publishers Weekly

“A fascinating epic fantasy set in a rich, well-developed world. Shannon has created fertile narrative ground.” —New York Journal of Books



Product Details
ISBN: 9781635570304
ISBN-10: 1635570301
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication Date: February 18th, 2020
Pages: 848
Language: English

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!

WE ARE OPEN FOR INSIDE SHOPPING!  We are taking every precaution to keep our staff and patrons safe.  "If you are yet to be fully vaccinated, we kindly ask you to wear a mask in order to enter Rainy Day Books." Thank You, Vivien & Roger.  Curbside & Inside Order Pick-Up Service and Inside Shopping are available Mondays to Fridays, from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM, and Saturdays from 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM.  Please place your Orders by Phone 913-384-3126, E-Mail Mailbox@RainyDayBooks.com and on our Website.

"When I discovered books as a young girl, I dreamt about having a bookstore where people could read about anything and everything that interests them.  Books provide edification, entertainment, and escape.  My dream came true, and I welcome you to Rainy Day Books." ~ Vivien Jennings, Founder & President

Call us at 913-384-3126 for personalized Reading Recommendations for all ages.

All Special Orders, Author Events Admission Packages and Author Autographed Book Sales are final and nonrefundable at time of purchase, all other Sales are exchangeable/refundable within 30 Days with Receipt.